## Media Release

Embargoed until 6.30pm, Tuesday 6 October 2015



## **IEAA Excellence Awards 2015**

The International Education Association of Australia (IEAA) recognised the cream of the crop of Australia's international education sector in Adelaide today.

IEAA's annual Excellence Awards were announced at the Australian International Education Conference (AIEC) and recognise outstanding contributions to Australia's international education sector – the nation's fourth largest export industry.

"Australia is host to more than 600,000 international students," said IEAA President Brett Blacker. "As such, international education plays a critical role in the social advancement, international standing and economic prosperity of our country."

"We are renowned across the world for our quality and innovation. This is largely on account of the talent and dedication of the academics and professional staff who work in the sector."

The recipients of this year's awards are:

# **Distinguished Contribution to International Education**

- Danielle Hartridge Associate Director (International Student Experiences),
  Victoria University; Immediate Past President, ISANA
- Professor Betty Leask PVC Teaching and Learning, La Trobe University

# **Excellence in Leadership in International Education**

Mike Ryan – Executive Director, Study Perth

## **Best Practice in International Education**

- Study Melbourne Student Centre
  - o Diana Crvenkovic Manager Student Experience
  - o Alex Prentice Manager Study Melbourne Student Centre
  - o Andrea Brookes Senior Case Worker
  - o Li Chen Case Worker
  - o Wei Jiang Case Worker
  - o Adriana Mendiata Administration and Project Officer
  - o Kimberlea Cooper Case Worker
  - o Tammy Vu Case Worker

## Media Release

Embargoed until 6.30pm, Tuesday 6 October 2015



# Teaching Advantage Project

- o Dr Dominique Greer Queensland University of Technology
- Associate Professor Abby Cathcart –
  Queensland University of Technology
- o Professor Larry Neale Queensland University of Technology

## **Innovation in International Education**

- Pioneering Engineering Educational Program, RMIT University in Vietnam
  - o Professor Gael McDonald President and General Director (2014–15)
  - o Professor Peter Coloe Pro Vice-Chancellor/Vice-President (2008-15)
  - o Professor Serge Demidenko Centre of Technology Head (2010–14)
  - Associate Professor Anthony Holland Centre of Technology Head (2014–15)
  - Moi Tin Chew Senior Lecturer, Head of Department Electronic and Computer Engineering, ME Program Manager, Vietnam (2010–14)
  - o Professor Merilyn Liddell, President and General Director (2009–12)
  - o Professor Joyce Kirk, President and General Director (2012--14)
  - Michael (Quach) Manh, Senior Lecturer, ME Program Manager,
    Melbourne (2010–14)
  - Professor Ian Burnett, Head of School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (2008–14)

## **Outstanding Postgraduate Thesis**

 Dr Agustian Sutrisno, PHD Awarded by Queensland University of Technology PhD Title: Knowledge Transfer Through Dual Degree Programs: Perspectives from Indonesian Universities

IEAA also warmly congratulates the grant recipients of the Tony Adams Fund 2015.

## More information

www.ieaa.org.au/awards www.ieaa.org.au/tonyadamsfund

## Media contact

Peter Muntz <u>peter.muntz@ieaa.org.au</u> 0488 086 962